Writing for young people:

I really like the workshop writing for young people and am constantly amazed by how quickly it starts and ends.

Sheena Wilkinson is always giving us different tips and tricks of getting started on new ideas, and well manages the time of the class. I really like that with each exercise she asks two people to share, but it is never allowed to be the same two people. It keeps the pace and attention of the class well.

My favorite thing we did was when she instructed us to pick a picture we liked the most. Once we did so, we had three minutes to write a story about the picture from the eyes of someone who hated it. I chose a snowy mountain with two people skiing on it, and wrote from the perspective of the mountain. It was a cute little story that I want to expand on.

Leave a comment